Reflections

 We stand a solemn watch

     The young ones fidget

     Some cry

     Most bow their heads and murmer

      I think they pray for their own immortality

They say you were too young to go

     You lie so quiet in your earth furniture

     Your body of flesh and bone

      Waiting to return

     To the cycle of all life

But your soul is a winged creature

    That has already taken flight

    You travel the night sky

    Waiting just beyond my window

    Inexorable as time

I see you in the pale streams of gold

    That pour through the windows

    Your warmth envelops me

     I can almost hear the flutter of your wings

     Wait, I whisper, I am coming.

 

 

  

 

 

2 thoughts on “Reflections

  1. HJC says:

    simply beautiful

Leave a Reply

